Skip to content

Hockey

March 2, 2011

Yup, I think it is officially… I think I am one of those well… Hockey Moms. My oldest so has played hockey since he was three or four (sorry those years kind of run together for me). Last night Gabriel’s team played the next higher team and then this morning I had to take his name off the back of his jersey so we could get it washed and handed back in. This morning it hit me though. He will never wear that jersey again. the jersey he wore for two year, two of the best hockey years so far.

He has always had a knack for hockey, but this year he worked so hard and improved so much. I enjoyed watching him play. The potential that he does not see in himself and that pours out of him. It drives me crazy that he does not see it. It is not just hockey, put school. He is so smart and has the potential of making really good grade, but he does not see it.

Those whole ending of hockey was also a reminder that he is growing and will keep growing. That scares me more then anything and much of it I have to leave to God and Gabriel and just keep praying. Kids are so easy when they are little, I never wanted my kids to get older. I loved being a kid, I really really did. There are still sometimes that I have to remind myself that I am 30 years old and have a husband and 4 kids. I hear so many people with young children say, “I can not wait till they get older, it will be so much easier”. In some ways the ways that it is hard when they are little they are right. In other ways they are very very wrong. It is just a different way that it is hard at each stage.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 12:30 pm

    I don’t envy hockey moms, it seems like such a cold way to pass the time 🙂 And I agree, it doesn’t really get “easier” when they get older, in fact I think the potential problems are really much bigger. I have a 15yo and a 3yo and I think they are equally challenging to parent at time LOL

Leave a Reply

