Skip to content

Recent Makings

August 30, 2010

The week before school started my kids stayed at their grandparents house for the week. While they were gone and Todd was at work, I worked on some projects of my own.

1) A t-shirt that needed one sleeve sewn back closed as it was cut open when my brother broke his elbow, two blankets for my niece and nephew and a dress that needed to by taken in for my sister.

2) A blanket for my niece that is due the end of September, there will also hopefully be  A First Doll or a Baggy Doll (pg.14&55 Making Waldorf Dolls) using the same fabric and then a tie fleece blanket.

3) This was suppose to be a large pencil pouch, but ended up being a mid-size bag. It fit all of the odd and in thins needs for school. It even fit his last years camo pouch and marker roll in it too. Gabriel loved the fabric and after going to school and seeing that he does not have a deck this year, but four kids at a round table I think it will work out well.

4) This is a super soft fleece on one side flannel on the other blanket for my niece(4 months).  (Yes, I have a big family) I got a picture a few days later of her pulling it up to her face and sucking her thumb, it was super cute and I am glad she loved it.

5) My last project of that week was a dance bag for my daughter. She started dance this year and we needed a safe spot to keep all the things she needs for dance and something she can bring back and forth to keep her shoes in.

I did not get all the projects done that I wanted to, but decrease my list by a lot.

Here is what I have left:

-2 dresses

-start my doll making

-tie blanket

-2 denim/camo quilts

This is as of right now, I am sure I will add to the list of things to do. I am always adding projects on to my want to do list.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 12:13 pm

    Well done!
    You are amazing to get so much done in a week. I’m reminded to keep going with my to do list 😉

    By the way, I’m doing a giveaway on my blog that you might like :
    http://www.lifeologia.com/back-to-school-treats-giveaway/

  2. themakinglife permalink
    September 1, 2010 2:08 pm

    Mmmm, a whole week of crafting! With a nursing baby I can only dream of the days when that will happen for me! Sounds like you do a lot of mending and altering. Those are not my strong suit — for one thing, I don’t really like mending, and for another I’m horrible at hand-sewing! (I’d really like to get better, though.)

  3. September 1, 2010 2:16 pm

    I am not much oh a hand sewer either. My mending is done on machine. I save my hand sewing for the dolls and stuff toys. This was the first time I have been kid free for a week and have been able to do so much.

Leave a Reply

