Skip to content

Weekend Makings

July 29, 2010

I love this fabric and needed two thing. First, I needed something to cover up the red circle on top of my new piano. Second, I needed someway to have my cell phone on my bike by me. I used that fabric and then red flannel on the back side of the runner and on the inside of the pocket.

The runner is just sewn right sides together with an opening left, flipped right side out and then zig-zagged around all of it.

The pocket is two rectangles of both fabrics. I sewed a strip of Velcro on each side of the red flannel pieces and then then one end of the Velcros so they would make a loop when contented to my bike to the printed back piece. Then I sewed the tops of each side (one printed-one rad flannel right sides together). I then lay it out to make one big rectangle with the printed sides right side together and then red flannel right sides together. I sewed around the big rectangle leaving an opening on the bottom on the red flannel piece. I flipped it right way out and sewed the bottom of the red flannel piece.  Lastly, I put the red flannel into the printed piece and attached to my bike. I did sew one of the printed piece upside down, but it still works for my purposes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 9:19 pm

    That cell phone pocket for the bike is great! I’ll have to make something like that for the stroller! : )

    I hope you’ll stop by Expect Moore and add this project to the Pocket Week Linky Party!

    http://expectmoore.blogspot.com/p/pocket-week.html

    Carolina

  2. August 4, 2010 1:54 am

    too cool!

    show us details of your bike project and then come link it up with us: http://www.finecraftguild.com/diy-tutorial-linky-party-8/

Leave a Reply

